Community & School Based Behavioral Health (CSBBH)

CSBBH Team services are voluntary mental health services for children and teenagers with a severe emotional and/or behavioral problem that interferes with their learning. School-based services differ from other types of behavioral health services because they are usually provided in school. After school and weekends, CSBBH Team services can be provided as needed in your home or in the community.

The CSBBH Team's goal is to teach your child new ways to better manage feelings and behaviors so that he or she can learn and get along better with others. The Service may include individual, group, or family therapy sessions, as well as behavior management planning, crisis intervention, and referrals. Services build on the strengths of your child and family.

CSSBH Team services are different from regular Behavioral Health Rehabilitation Services (BHRS). The team provides services as needed and during specific times when your child has the most difficulty. The team works with your child one-on-one, with another child, in a group, or with your family.

CSSBH Team services are usually approved for up to six months for a school semester. A child needs to be eligible for Medical Assistance to qualify for CSBBH team services and the school must be in a participating district.

Services include:

  • Mental health assessments
  • Case management
  • School consultation
  • Crisis support
  • Trauma exposure screening
  • Substance abuse screening
  • Individual therapy
  • Group therapy
  • Family psycho-educational groups
  • Parenting psycho-educational groups
  • Family therapy

Treatment Team: Individualized treatment plans are developed for each client by an interdisciplinary treatment team that includes, but is not limited to:

  • Mental Health Professional (MHP)
  • Behavioral Health Worker (BHW)
  • Licensed psychologist or psychiatrist (provides consultation)

Treatment Locations:

  • Mount Carmel School District: (570) 825-6425 Ext. 170
  • Shikellamy: 570-286-3736 Ext. 2418
  • Shamokin: 570-648-5721 Ext. 2608
  • Pottsville:
    • JS Clarke: 570-621-7675
    • DHH Middle School: 570-624-4789
  • Minersville:
    • Elementary: 570-399-6801
    • Jr/Sr High School: 570-544-1400 Ext. 2024
  • Wilkes-Barre Area:
    • Heights: (570) 824-5127
    • Kistler: (570) 820-3734
    • Dodson: (570) 266-0784
    • Dan Flood: (570) 706-0523
    • Solomon Plains Educational Complex: (570) 826-7222 Ext. 3460
  • Wyoming Valley West
    • State Street: (570) 938-0806
  • Pittston Area
    • Intermediate, Middle and Primary, High School: (570) 655-2927 Ext. 3029
  • Crestwood:
    • Rice Elementary: 570-868-3161
    • Fairview Elementary: 570-474-5942

Hours of Operation: Day and evening hours are available. Please call for an appointment.

Direct Contact

Carolanne Jones-Leco, Vice President of Programs
Phone: 570-825-6425 x345